Teitur Lassen

Teitur (Faroese pronunciation: [ˈtaitʊɹ]; born Teitur Lassen 1977 in Hoyvík) is a Faroese musician, composer, singer-songwriter and producer based on the Faroe Islands. He is a winner of multiple Danish Music Awards and has toured globally since his debut Universal release, Poetry & Aeroplanes, in 2003.

Since 2001 he has dedicated himself to playing and writing music in English full-time, and has released seven studio albums as a solo artist. He has additionally produced, written for, or worked with multiple international artists including Seal, Corinne Bailey Rae, Netherlands Wind Ensemble, Judith Holofernes, Emilie Simon, International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), Holland Baroque Society, Nolwenn Leroy, Nico Muhly, and Ane Brun. His songs have appeared on major motion picture soundtracks and numerous compilations. In 2010 he was invited to perform for the Queen of Denmark’s 70th birthday celebrations and in 2015 Teitur was a speaker at the TED conference in Vancouver

In 2006 Grammy winner Corinne Bailey Rae released a song she co-wrote with Teitur “Choux Pastry Heart” on her debut album which sold 4 million copies worldwide and debuted at number one in the British charts.

Teitur produced and arranged the album “Le Cheshire Cat et Moi” in 2009 for French superstar Nolwenn Leroy, in addition to co-writing five of the songs.

In 2010, the legendary Italian singer Mina recorded Teitur’s song “You Get Me” as a duet with Seal, which was the first single from her album Caramella, which went top 3 in Italy. Seal went on to record the song again, with David Foster producing, for Seal’s album “Commitment”, which charted in 12 countries, also recording it as a duet with Concha Buika (Spain), TinkaBelle (Switzerland) and Anna Eriksson (Finland).

In 2017 the album “Ich bin das Chaos” was released by Judith Holofernes. Teitur was the co-writer of nine songs and co-produced and arranged the album as well as play guitar, piano and synths. The album debuted at no. 13 in the German charts.

in 2018 Teitur released “Running Music” together with Mads Bjørn which is electronic music for running, fitness and movement. The album went to no. 1 on Danish Electronica charts on iTunes.

Teitur is also a classical composer, please visit this site to view his classical profile: Teitur Lassen – Classical Composer

Teitur Lassen - Pop/Rock Compositions Worklist

TitleInstumentYearDuration (min)PublisherRecording
I Want To Be Kind2018Arlo and Betty Music
Running Music (with Mads Bjørn)2018Arlo and Betty Music
Confessions (with Nico Muhly)2016Arlo and Betty Music
Story Music2013Arlo and Betty Music
Let the Dog Drive Home2010Arlo and Betty Music
The Singer2008Arlo and Betty Music
Káta Hornið2007Arlo and Betty Music
Stay Under The Stars2006Arlo and Betty Music
Poetry & Aeroplanes2003Arlo and Betty Music

Other Jazz, Rock, Pop, Folk Music Composers: