The association was founded on the 14th of November 1987.
The purposes of the association are to nurture the interests of Faroese composers, to protect their rights and to actively seek to improve the composers' artistic and financial circumstances.


Summartónar 2011

Welcome to Summartónar 2011.

Felagið Føroysk Tónaskøld (Association of Faroese Composers) organizes the annual Summartónar festival in concert halls all over the Faroe Islands. With its focus on composition, the Sommartónar festival is a continuous, vital dynamo in the development of Faroese music. This year we celebrate the 20th Summartónar festival.

The 2011 festival programme reflects its role as a platform for new works by Faroese composers, many of them first performances. In the past few years, Summartónar has also presented improvised music, as well as contemporary folk music and a few rock concerts.

Summartónar is international: as well as works by Faroese composers, this year's festival features artists from Canada, New Zealand, USA, Belgium, Ireland, France, Turkey, Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Iceland performing international programmes.


This year's festival involves cooperation with various other events and regional organizers, combining our efforts to maximise benefits. The concert series runs all summer, from June 7th to August 17th.

Summartónar's partners are:

Fólkatónleikastevnan (Faroe Islands Folk Festival)


The Nordic House

Kristianshús (Mykines)

Vága Kunningarstova





Sands Listasavn & Sands Bókasavn

Kunningarstovan í Sandoy

Kunningarstovan í Nólsoy

Gamli Skúlin í Sørvági

Mentanarhúsið í Fuglafirði

Events organized in coordination between these partners and Summartónar are listed in the Summartónar 2011 programme. Additional events can be found on the individual websites.

For the updated Summartónar concert programme, please visit 

Overall week plan


Tórshavn: Nordic House 3 p.m.

Mykines: Mykines 9 p.m.



Klæmintsgjógv: Concerto Grotto 1 p.m.

Tórshavn: Hvonn 9 p.m.

Wednesdays: Gjógv 7 p.m.


Klaksvík: Spaniastova 8 p.m.

Tórshavn: Hvonn 9 p.m.


Gøta: Tøting 9 p.m.


Tórshavn: Havnar Kirkja 11.30 a.m.

Nólsoy: Nólsoy 1.30 p.m.

Sørvágur: Gamli Skúlin 7 p.m.


Sandoy: Sandur 4.30 p.m.

Fuglafjørður: Mentanarhúsið 8 p.m.