The association was founded on the 14th of November 1987.
The purposes of the association are to nurture the interests of Faroese composers, to protect their rights and to actively seek to improve the composers' artistic and financial circumstances.


General assembly

 On April 19th, 2016, there was a general assembly, and these board members were elected: Kristian Blak, chairman, Heðin Ziska Davidsen, Theodor Kapnas and Jóhannus á Rógvu Joensen.